We Mix Business with Pleasure.

ST GEORGE’S, Grenada — Almost 250 athletes from six countries participated in the Digicel Tri de Spice 2013 held at Port Louis Marina in Grenada on Easter Sunday. There were seven different distances and 15 categories that athletes were able to compete in, based on age and ability. Some 248 trophies and medals as well as US$3,000 were up for grabs.

The first events of the day were the Olympic and Sprint distance triathlons. In the men’s Olympic race, Grenada’s Chris Regis led the race out of the swim; Piers Vallance from the UK had a solid bike to take the lead which he kept to earn his gold medal. Last year’s winner, Ancil Greene from Trinidad finished the swim in 4th place but had moved into the 3rd place by the end of the 1st transition. He continued to close the gap on Chris Regis throughout the bike and run but Chris was just too strong, narrowly beating Ancil by only 10 seconds. The women’s race was won by Piers’ wife Claire Vallance, also from the UK, in very impressive fashion leading the whole way. Inga Karasek and Helen Raithby, both from Grenada were 2nd and 3rd respectively. Chris Regis and Inga Karasek are the Olympic distance National champions.

The men’s sprint distance race was dominated by Nicholas Mitchell from Trinidad who led from the very start; Aleem Mohammed also from Trinidad was second and in third place, our new national Champion and the second youngest athlete in the sprint race at only 16, was Calum Noel of Grenada. The women’s race saw Trinidad on all three podium spots. Renee Chin lee led from the very beginning of the race, with Jacquline Jodhan and Chelsea Mohammed coming second and third respectively. Lucy Murchie is the women’s new national champion.

The Republic Bank Right start Interschool championships had another very successful year with 180 children racing. The senior school champions were PBC for the boys and Westmorland for the girls; the junior school champions were Alpha for the boys and Westmorland for the girls. Congratulations go to the individual winners of the Try-a-tri and junior events, Kean Hoschtialek, Gabrielle Hyson, Jaydon Hyson, Beyonce Embleton, D’Andre Stephen, Angelique Minors, Devonte Noel, Lily Stauble, Ricardo John, Joan Norton.

For pictures of the event courtesy of Mikey Hutchinson, visithttps://www.dropbox.com/sh/cd3p73oosi6emq0/piqVDI_cZA#/

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s

Tag Cloud

%d bloggers like this: